word

Word Bookstore July Events

From book readings, to children’s events, Word Bookstore is a such a great local resource for bookworms, writers, and families. Check out what July has in store.

Tuesday, July 8, 7:30 p.m.
Mira Jacob presents The Sleepwalkers Guide to Dancing
Mira Jacob presents her debut novel The Sleepwalkers Guide to Dancing, about a family struggling with its past and its future. She’ll be in conversation with the Jersey Journal’s Terrence T. McDonald. A must-read for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jhumpa Lahiri.

Thursday, July 10, 7:30 p.m.
Breena Clarke presents Angels Make Their Hope Here
Jersey City resident Breena Clarke launches her new book Angels Make Their Hope Here, with a reading, Q&A, and signing.

Saturday, July 12, 11 a.m. – 9 p.m.
Chilltown Literary Festival
Day of literary programming all around downtown Jersey City, culminating with an evening drinks mixer and nighttime panel featuring New Jersey authors and New Jersey stories. Current authors participating throughout the day include Emma Straub (The Vacationers), Eric Smith (The Geek’s Guide to Dating), Emily Croy Barker (The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic), Murray Carpenter (Caffeinated), Ed Lazellari (Awakenings, The Lost Prince), and John Gomez (Legendary Locals of Jersey City). Visit chilltownlitfest.tumblr.com for further details.

Sunday, July 13, 11 a.m.
Peter Brown presents My Teacher Is A Monster
Party and paper airplane craft for the little ones, with award-winning author and illustrator Peter Brown who will be presenting his new book My Teacher Is A Monster! (No, I Am Not). Recommended for kids aged 5 and up; open to all ages.

Tuesday, July 15, 7:30 p.m.
JC Poetry Night
WORD Bookstore poetry series presents writers Gary J. Whitehead (A Glossary of Chickens), Cynthia Atkins (In The Event of Full Disclosure), and Michael T. Young (The Beautiful Moment of Being Lost) as they read from their works.

Wednesday, July 16, 7:30 p.m.
Local Author Night
Join Jersey City locals Adam Lance Garcia and Laryssa Wirstiuk for a reading and signing.

Sunday, July 20, 10:00 a.m.
Alexis Barad-Cutler and Hungry Pandas
Bring the kids and learn to count backwards and forwards with Alexis Barad-Cutler’s new book Five Hungry Pandas. Great for kids aged 3 and up. Open to all ages.

Sunday, July 27, 7:30 p.m.
Game Night featuring Slash
Join the inventors of Slash: Romance Without Boundaries for an introduction to the game. Compete to make the perfect One True Pairing by matching romantic partners from themes of pop culture, literature, and history in this hilarious (and occasionally dirty) card game.