What is the Significance of the Astrological New Year?

by Kaitlyn De Leonardis
astrological new year

The Spring Equinox is upon us! A glorious time of year when the Earth comes back to life. Springtime also marks something rather significant in the stars—the astrological new year, otherwise known as Aries season. 

Our social media feeds are about to blow up with selfies captioned #ariesseason and way too many fire emojis. Someone should tell the Rams this time of year isn’t just about them #sorrynotsorry. Aries is the first sign on the zodiacal wheel, so when the Sun moves into this bold fire sign, it kicks off a brand new cycle for everyone. It doesn’t matter where Aries falls in your chart—it’s a time for a collective rebirth and renewal. This is the Sun’s exalted position, which basically means that the Sun is supported in Aries, similar to when it’s at home in Leo.

A brief background on how the zodiac signs work and the Sun’s role in all this is essential to truly understand the significance of the astrological new year. So read on to find out! 

What is the Sun’s Role in Astrology? 

You don’t have to know much about astrology, or even astronomy for that matter, to know that the Sun is the governing celestial body in the solar system. Without it, life as we know it wouldn’t be possible. While astrologers will often refer to the Sun and Moon as “planets,” the correct terminology for these “light-giving bodies” is a luminary. The Moon—along with all the other planets—is only visible because of the light emitted by the Sun. Astrology has always placed great importance on luminaries due to their high visibility and close ties to our planet. 

Astrological New Year

Earth orbiting the Sun l Image by Guillaume Preat 

While the Earth orbits the Sun, it appears to be the opposite from our view. So the Sun’s movement throughout the sky constitutes the time and seasons here on Earth, and its movements through the constellations dictate which zodiacal season we are in. Everyone born within that zodiacal season will share the same Sun sign, as this luminary spends a predictable 30 days in each sign, but dates will vary slightly. 

Sun signs are an essential component of our cosmic identities and often the first zodiac sign we associate with. Rightfully so, because in astrology, the Sun represents who we are on the inside, while the rising sign colors our persona, appearance and outward projection of ourselves. It is usually the people closest to us who really “see” our sun signs. They’ve taken the time to get to know us through and through. The Sun is very much linked to the soul, the ego, our vitality and the core of who we are. Nothing could exist in our solar system without the Sun—it is the center of all that is. 

What is the Zodiacal Order?

The 12 zodiac signs that we are familiar with today have been in place since the birth of astrology in ancient Babylonia. The Babylonians attached the constellations to specific seasons, as this practice was used to predict weather patterns and political affairs. Their year started on the Vernal or Spring Equinox—when the Aries constellation dominates the sky and the Sun transitions into this sign. The zodiac wheel or “order” of the signs starts with Aries and moves counterclockwise. No matter where Aries falls in a chart, Taurus will follow and then Gemini, etc. The complete order is Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. 

zodiac order

Zodiac Wheel l Image by Gordon Johnson 

The Zodiac Wheel

The zodiac wheel is thought to represent the evolution of a soul. It starts with the spark of life and the first “stage” of Aries and ends with the last “stage” of death and release with the twelfth sign, Pisces. If you approach the zodiac from this perspective, each sign is an extension of the previous one—which makes Aries the fundamental building block. Every sign of the zodiac has a little bit of Aries in them. 

House rulership is also dictated by the zodiacal order. Each sign is associated with a house or area of life. Aries rules the first house of self, Taurus gets the second house of worth and value, and so on.

The nature of the zodiacal order and sign archetypes is actually influenced by the weather patterns of the changing seasons in the Northern Hemisphere. Just like each sign is associated with one of the four elements, they’re also categorized by three different types of modalities or qualities. For example, Aries is a cardinal sign—along with Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. They signify the beginning of a season, as the Sun’s move into these signs coincides with the equinoxes and solstices. 

Cardinal signs are thought to be the initiators of the zodiac. The fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius) are the stabilizers; they mark the peak of a season. While the mutable signs (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces) are the facilitators of change and involve the end of one season as we transition into the next.

The Aries Archetype

Aries energy is about unapologetically being yourself. As a fire sign, they are vibrant, exciting and vocal. They often take action with confidence and are very generous when it comes to sharing their opinions. The sign’s association with the first house makes them fiercely independent, and a bit selfish which isn’t always a bad thing.

The Aries archetype is centered around building an identity, and this holds especially true for Aries Suns. Ruled by the planet Mars, they are quite ambitious, with a go-getter attitude that stops at nothing. Being a cardinal sign, they are self-starters who conceive an ample amount of original ideas. Their pioneering attributes are what make them a great fit for leadership roles. When they come to truly understand, love and accept themselves, they can help others do the same. Their nature is warm and bright, and this radiates from within.

Astrological New Year

Aries archetype l Image by Darkmoon_Art 

What is the Significance of the Astrological New Year? 

The astrological new year is a time to embrace who we are—and a chance to start over when it comes to our relationship with ourselves. Springtime in the Northern Hemisphere represents the spark of life and the beginning of a new cycle. As the Sun moves into Aries, it’s all about discovering our personal power. At this time, we can redefine ourselves; and when we do that, it regenerates life as we know it. 

Much like our actual New Year, it’s a time to set goals and make fundamental changes to better ourselves. Be sure to practice some radical self-love, because that’s what Aries does best. Yes, it is in fact okay to be a little selfish sometimes. We are the building blocks of society, and Aries season, along with the astrological new year, is a gentle reminder that it all starts with the self.  

For more on how the astrological new year will impact you, be sure to read your March 2022 horoscope!

About the Author/s

Website | All posts

A writer and astrologer, sustained by iced coffee, sunsets and decorating her home. For more on her services and where her insights can be found, visit cosmickait.com.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Yes, I would like to receive emails from The Digest Online. Sign me up!

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: New Jersey Digest. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact